{
  "meta": {
    "publisher": "Mass Tort Marketing Agency",
    "dataset": "Cost Per Signed Retainer (CPR) Benchmark",
    "release": "2026-q1",
    "quarter": "Q1 2026",
    "temporalCoverage": "2026-01-01/2026-03-31",
    "dataAsOf": "2026-03-31",
    "published": "2026-04-24",
    "lastReviewed": "2026-06-10",
    "methodologyVersion": "1.0",
    "methodologyUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/methodology",
    "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks",
    "verification": {
      "status": "unverified",
      "reviewer": null,
      "statement": "No third party has reviewed this methodology or the underlying data. Mass Tort Marketing Agency sells the leads these figures price."
    },
    "vendorDisclosure": "Mass Tort Marketing Agency sells the mass tort leads these figures price. The panel is the agency's own client base and the underlying performance data is self-reported by those firms.",
    "sourcesDisclosure": "Benchmark ranges are drawn from the panel performance data cross-referenced against published industry surveys and practitioner-disclosed benchmarks. Those sources are not named in the published methodology, and how they enter the calculation is not specified.",
    "license": {
      "name": "CC BY 4.0",
      "url": "https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/",
      "attribution": "Mass Tort Marketing Agency CPR Benchmark, https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/"
    },
    "nullConvention": "A null value is never a zero and never an estimate. Every null is paired with an adjacent *Reason field stating why the value is unavailable.",
    "immutable": true,
    "immutableNote": "This is a dated snapshot. Its figures will not change. Cite this URL when you need a value that stays stable."
  },
  "panel": {
    "firms": 140,
    "firmsBasis": "active plaintiff-side client firms",
    "annualLeadSpendUsd": 180000000,
    "tortCategoriesTracked": 16,
    "tortCategoriesPublished": 14,
    "selfReported": true,
    "crossReferenced": {
      "value": true,
      "disclosure": "Benchmark ranges are drawn from the panel performance data cross-referenced against published industry surveys and practitioner-disclosed benchmarks. Those sources are not named in the published methodology, and how they enter the calculation is not specified."
    }
  },
  "national": {
    "medianCpr": 3850,
    "comparison": {
      "againstRelease": "2024-q4",
      "againstLabel": "Q4 2024",
      "value": 3100,
      "changePct": 24,
      "isQuarterOverQuarter": false,
      "note": "Change is measured against the Q4 2024 benchmark, the prior published national median. The intervening quarters are not held in the dataset, so a true quarter-over-quarter change is not computable.",
      "drivers": [
        "TCPA compliance premiums on consent-verified lead flow",
        "Rising digital ad CPMs",
        "Tighter MDL-level case qualification criteria"
      ]
    },
    "sampleSize": null,
    "sampleSizeUnavailable": "Panel totals (140 firms, $180M annual spend) are published, but the count of firms contributing to the national median specifically is not tracked in the published dataset.",
    "confidenceInterval": null,
    "confidenceIntervalUnavailable": "Not computable. The published dataset carries interquartile ranges, not the per-observation values a confidence interval requires."
  },
  "torts": [
    {
      "slug": "rideshare",
      "name": "Rideshare (Uber/Lyft assault and injury)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 950,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 1400,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 18,
        "high": 24
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Low",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": {
        "low": 15,
        "high": 20
      },
      "falloffUnavailableReason": null,
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Any rideshare passenger injured or assaulted during a ride. Qualification is procedurally simple: the claimant either has a documented rideshare trip during which they were injured or assaulted, or they do not. Medical record retrieval is comparatively cheap because most claimants have contemporaneous ER or urgent-care records.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active and the lowest-CPR tort in the benchmark. Broad criteria, an enormous and demographically diverse claimant pool, and efficient acquisition funnels driven by consumer familiarity with the Uber and Lyft brands. At this CPR almost any firm with competent intake can operate profitably; the strategic question is how to differentiate inventory as the Rideshare MDL matures. Falloff is driven mostly by claimants who recover quickly and decide not to pursue.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "hair-relaxer",
        "roundup",
        "camp-lejeune"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/rideshare",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "hair-relaxer",
      "name": "Hair Relaxer (uterine and ovarian cancer)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 1150,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 1800,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 14,
        "high": 18
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Medium",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": {
        "low": 20,
        "high": 26
      },
      "falloffUnavailableReason": null,
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Chemical hair relaxer use plus a documented uterine cancer, ovarian cancer, or uterine fibroid diagnosis. The claimant does not need to have used exclusively one brand, which simplifies qualification substantially.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active, and the largest single-tort inventory growth story of 2024-2026. Broad criteria plus a demographically concentrated claimant pool make acquisition efficient. Falloff is the highest of any low-CPR tort because diagnostic verification requires documented uterine pathology that some claimants do not actually have despite self-reporting. A Tier-2 qualification call with a medically-trained intake specialist within 48 hours of initial retainer typically cuts falloff to 12-15%, lowering effective CPR 10-15% below the headline number.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "rideshare",
        "depo-provera",
        "roundup"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/hair-relaxer",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "roundup",
      "name": "Roundup (non-Hodgkin lymphoma)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 1400,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 2100,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 12,
        "high": 17
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Medium",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": {
        "low": 12,
        "high": 15
      },
      "falloffUnavailableReason": null,
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Residential, agricultural, or commercial Roundup exposure plus a non-Hodgkin lymphoma diagnosis.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active with mature inventory after nearly a decade of litigation. CPR stays low because criteria are broad and the acquisition funnel is well-optimized; Monsanto/Bayer settlement history creates favorable claimant awareness. Signed rate has been declining slowly as the most motivated claimants have already signed with competitor firms, so new entrants should model the lower end of the band (12%) rather than the upper end. Falloff is low because NHL diagnosis is medically well-documented and rarely reverses.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "hair-relaxer",
        "camp-lejeune",
        "afff"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/roundup",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "suboxone",
      "name": "Suboxone (tooth decay and dental injury)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 1800,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 2600,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 11,
        "high": 16
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Medium",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": null,
      "falloffUnavailableReason": "Not published for this tort. The source dataset describes Suboxone falloff risk qualitatively (doubled by the dual medical and dental documentation requirement) without a numeric range.",
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Documented Suboxone sublingual film use for a minimum duration, plus specific dental injuries including tooth loss, severe caries, or documented root-canal necessity.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active mid-range tort. Qualification difficulty is moderate and the claimant pool overlaps with opioid-recovery demographics, which requires more careful outreach. Firms succeeding here build referral relationships with dental practitioners in Medicaid-dense markets to complement paid acquisition. Pure paid-digital campaigns run at the upper end of the range because qualification requires both medical and dental documentation, doubling falloff risk; dental-dominant intake workflows can compress CPR 15-20% below pure paid-digital economics.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "depo-provera",
        "roundup",
        "ozempic"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/suboxone",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "depo-provera",
      "name": "Depo Provera (meningioma)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 2200,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 3100,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 10,
        "high": 14
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Medium-High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": {
        "low": 16,
        "high": 20
      },
      "falloffUnavailableReason": null,
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Documented Depo Provera contraceptive injection history plus a documented meningioma diagnosis.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active. The textbook narrow-but-high-value tort: criteria narrow the claimant pool significantly relative to broader women's-health torts like Hair Relaxer, and the lower end of the signed-rate band reflects legitimate qualification rejections at medical-record review. MDL criteria tightening in 2025 narrowed the exposure window and moved CPR up roughly 12-18% from 2024 levels, so firms entering in 2026 should model against the current tighter criteria rather than legacy 2023-2024 baselines. Falloff is driven primarily by meningioma diagnostic verification requirements.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "hair-relaxer",
        "suboxone",
        "nec-baby-formula"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/depo-provera",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "camp-lejeune",
      "name": "Camp Lejeune (PACT Act water contamination)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 2400,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 3600,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 14,
        "high": 20
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Medium",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": null,
      "falloffUnavailableReason": "Not published for this tort. The source dataset does not state a numeric falloff range for Camp Lejeune.",
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "The claimant was stationed at, or resided near, Camp Lejeune between 1953 and 1987 for at least 30 days, plus one of a defined list of qualifying health conditions.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active, and the outlier on this list: a statutorily-created tort under the PACT Act rather than a traditional product liability matter. Signed rates are unusually high for a mid-range CPR tort because the criteria are checklist-verifiable and claimants typically have strong documentation of their service history. CPR has compressed 18-25% from its 2023 peak as the market matured and the remaining unidentified claimant pool shrank. Firms operating successfully in 2026 build referral pipelines through VFW posts, veterans' service organizations, and VA-affiliated medical providers alongside paid acquisition.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "afff",
        "roundup",
        "pfas-personal-injury"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/camp-lejeune",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "afff",
      "name": "AFFF (firefighting foam, PFAS cancer)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 2800,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 4200,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 9,
        "high": 14
      },
      "qualificationTier": "High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": null,
      "falloffUnavailableReason": "Not published for this tort. The source dataset does not state a numeric falloff range for AFFF.",
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Documented occupational exposure to aqueous film-forming foam containing PFAS compounds — professional firefighters, military firefighting personnel, and industrial-site workers — plus a qualifying cancer diagnosis (testicular, kidney, or certain lymphomas, depending on the MDL's current inclusion list).",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active. TCPA compliance matters more here than in any other tort in the benchmark because the claimant pool overlaps with active-duty and retired-military populations regulated under the Military Lending Act and related federal statutes. Firms buying non-compliant AFFF leads carry materially higher downstream litigation risk than in consumer torts, which makes the 15-25% premium for consent-verified AFFF leads arguably the most defensible in the benchmark.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "pfas-personal-injury",
        "camp-lejeune",
        "roundup"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/afff",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "nec-baby-formula",
      "name": "NEC (necrotizing enterocolitis, cow's milk formula)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 3100,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 4800,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 8,
        "high": 13
      },
      "qualificationTier": "High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": {
        "low": 28,
        "high": 35
      },
      "falloffUnavailableReason": null,
      "falloffNote": "This is the qualification-failure rate at medical-record review — the share of signed retainers that fail to file — and is the highest of any active tort.",
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "A premature infant received Similac or Enfamil cow's-milk-based formula (not breast milk or human-milk-based formula) during a specific neonatal window, and was subsequently diagnosed with necrotizing enterocolitis.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active, with among the most technically specific criteria of any active tort. Roughly 28-35% of signed retainers fail to file because documentation of formula brand, formula batch, or gestational age cannot be produced. Firms running Tier-2 medical-record pre-screening within 72 hours of initial retainer cut filed-case falloff to 12-18%; a 20-point reduction drops effective CPR from the upper-band $4,800 to roughly $3,400.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "bard-powerport",
        "hernia-mesh",
        "depo-provera"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/nec-baby-formula",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "hernia-mesh",
      "name": "Hernia Mesh (implant complications)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 3400,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 4900,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 9,
        "high": 14
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Medium-High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": {
        "low": 12,
        "high": 28
      },
      "falloffUnavailableReason": null,
      "falloffNote": "Bimodal, not a distribution range: firms that pre-screen for implant documentation availability before signing run 12-15%; firms that sign without pre-screening run 22-28%.",
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "A specific hernia mesh device manufacturer and model, a documented post-implant complication (migration, chronic pain requiring explant, or infection), and specific documentation of surgical history.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active, with MDL leadership progressively narrowing criteria. The operational challenge is that claimants often cannot recall the specific mesh manufacturer or device model, and retrieving it from hospital records can take 60-90 days. Pre-screening for implant documentation availability before signing retains the top-quartile claimants and roughly halves falloff.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "bard-powerport",
        "nec-baby-formula",
        "olympus-scope"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/hernia-mesh",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "bard-powerport",
      "name": "Bard PowerPort (catheter fracture and migration)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 3800,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 5400,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 8,
        "high": 12
      },
      "qualificationTier": "High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": {
        "low": 25,
        "high": 30
      },
      "falloffUnavailableReason": null,
      "falloffNote": "Qualification-failure rate at medical-record review.",
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "A documented Bard PowerPort implant, documented fracture or migration of the device, and specific injury documentation (infection, internal injury, or surgical removal).",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active. The specificity of the criteria — device model, fracture documentation, and specific injury — produces one of the highest qualification-failure rates at medical-record review in the benchmark. Firms entering in 2026 should invest heavily in pre-screening the device-model question, because the wrong model disqualifies an entire cohort. Signing claimants with implantable ports from other manufacturers on the assumption that criteria will broaden later has not worked and is unlikely to; that inventory becomes unfilable cost.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "hernia-mesh",
        "nec-baby-formula",
        "olympus-scope"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/bard-powerport",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "ozempic",
      "name": "Ozempic (GLP-1 agonist gastroparesis)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 4200,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 6100,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 7,
        "high": 11
      },
      "qualificationTier": "High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": {
        "low": 28,
        "high": 28
      },
      "falloffUnavailableReason": null,
      "falloffNote": "Stated as a single current figure (28%), not a range.",
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Ozempic or other GLP-1 agonist use plus a documented gastroparesis diagnosis — not simple nausea or GI discomfort.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active, the newest high-volume tort in the benchmark, and criteria are still evolving. The low end of the signed-rate band reflects that many self-reporting claimants have GI symptoms that do not rise to gastroparesis on clinical evaluation. MDL leadership has telegraphed further narrowing in 2026, likely requiring gastric emptying scintigraphy documented within a defined window of GLP-1 use. Firms anticipating that narrowing pre-screen for motility testing and refuse to sign without it: signed volume drops 30-40% but falloff falls to 12-15%, improving effective CPR 18-22%.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "suboxone",
        "depo-provera",
        "oxbryta"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/ozempic",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "olympus-scope",
      "name": "Olympus Scope (CRE infection, MAJ-891 recall)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 5200,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 7600,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 6,
        "high": 10
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Very High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": null,
      "falloffUnavailableReason": "Not published for this tort. The source dataset does not state a numeric falloff range for Olympus Scope.",
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "A documented Olympus scope procedure (typically ERCP, cystoscopy, ureteroscopy, or a procedure using the recalled MAJ-891 tubing set), plus a documented CRE or other qualifying bacterial infection within approximately 30 days, plus hospitalization records.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active, with the most demanding qualification criteria in the benchmark. The CPR is worth the investment because case values are unusually high — the Bigler bellwether verdict delivered $6.6 million plus $250,000 in concealment sanctions, and bellwether planning suggests average settlement values in the high six figures for serious CRE cases. Firms with medically-trained intake capable of navigating ERCP procedure records plus infection-diagnosis records outperform general-intake firms by 25-35% on signed rate.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "oxbryta",
        "pfas-personal-injury",
        "bard-powerport"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/olympus-scope",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "oxbryta",
      "name": "Oxbryta (sickle cell disease)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 5800,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 8400,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 6,
        "high": 9
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Very High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": null,
      "falloffUnavailableReason": "Not published for this tort. The source dataset does not state a numeric falloff range for Oxbryta.",
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Documented Oxbryta (voxelotor) use plus a documented vaso-occlusive crisis hospitalization or wrongful death.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active post-withdrawal tort — Pfizer voluntarily withdrew voxelotor in September 2024 following safety concerns around vaso-occlusive crises and mortality signals. Signed rates reflect both the narrow claimant pool and the demographic concentration of sickle cell disease patients. Paid-digital acquisition alone is inefficient here; firms building relationships with sickle cell disease advocacy organizations and hematology practices in the Southeast and mid-Atlantic typically operate at $4,000-$5,500 CPR, well below paid-digital-only firms.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "olympus-scope",
        "pfas-personal-injury",
        "ozempic"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/oxbryta",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    },
    {
      "slug": "pfas-personal-injury",
      "name": "PFAS personal injury (non-AFFF residential)",
      "status": "Active",
      "cpr": {
        "low": 7500,
        "median": null,
        "medianUnavailableReason": "Per-tort medians are not published. The dataset carries the interquartile low and high bounds for each tort; only the national median is published as a point value.",
        "high": 11500,
        "currency": "USD"
      },
      "signedRatePct": {
        "low": 4,
        "high": 8
      },
      "qualificationTier": "Very High",
      "sampleSize": null,
      "sampleSizeUnavailableReason": "Per-tort sample sizes are not broken out in the published dataset. The panel total (140 firms, $180M of annual mass tort lead spend across 16 active tort categories) is published at the panel level only, so the number of firms and the spend basis behind any single row cannot be stated.",
      "confidenceInterval": null,
      "confidenceIntervalUnavailableReason": "Not computable from the published dataset. Benchmarks are published as trimmed interquartile ranges, and the per-observation values a confidence interval requires are not retained in the published figures.",
      "falloffPct": null,
      "falloffUnavailableReason": "Not published for this tort. The source dataset does not state a numeric falloff range for PFAS personal injury.",
      "falloffNote": null,
      "rowUpdated": "2026-04-24",
      "rowUpdatedNote": "Rows are refreshed as a complete set each release, so every row carries the release publication date rather than an independent per-row date.",
      "qualificationCriteria": "Documented PFAS exposure through contaminated drinking water or consumer products, plus a specific PFAS-linked cancer or disease diagnosis. Distinct from AFFF occupational-exposure claims.",
      "statusAndAcquisition": "Active and the highest-CPR tort in the benchmark, with the lowest signed rate of any active tort because criteria require both exposure documentation and highly specific medical documentation. This is a specialty tort: firms operating it successfully are geographically focused on known-contamination zones (specific PFAS-impacted water districts, specific consumer-product batches) rather than running national campaigns. A geographically-targeted campaign in a confirmed contamination zone can achieve CPR 30-40% below the national PFAS benchmark; a national campaign rarely achieves even the upper-band benchmark.",
      "relatedTorts": [
        "afff",
        "camp-lejeune",
        "olympus-scope"
      ],
      "canonicalUrl": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/pfas-personal-injury",
      "quarter": "Q1 2026"
    }
  ],
  "annotations": [
    {
      "id": "tcpa-compliance-premium",
      "scope": "national",
      "period": "2024-q4/2026-q1",
      "title": "TCPA compliance premium was priced in, not unwound",
      "text": "Between late 2023 and early 2025 the legal lead industry absorbed major costs building one-to-one consent infrastructure in response to the FCC's one-to-one consent rule. The Eleventh Circuit vacated that rule on January 24, 2025, holding that the FCC exceeded its statutory authority under the TCPA. Sophisticated vendors did not dismantle their compliance stack afterwards — they priced it. Leads arriving through TrustedForm or Jornaya LeadID-verified flows now carry a 15-25% wholesale price premium over unverified sources, and that premium is one of the three named drivers of the 24% rise in the national median between Q4 2024 and Q1 2026.",
      "source": {
        "name": "Insurance Marketing Coalition Ltd. v. Federal Communications Commission, No. 24-10277 (11th Cir. Jan. 24, 2025)",
        "url": "https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/ca11/24-10277/24-10277-2025-01-24.html",
        "date": "2025-01-24",
        "type": "external"
      }
    },
    {
      "id": "national-median-drivers",
      "scope": "national",
      "period": "2024-q4/2026-q1",
      "title": "National median rose 24% on three named drivers",
      "text": "The national median cost per signed retainer moved from $3,100 in Q4 2024 to $3,850 in Q1 2026, a 24% increase. Mass Tort Marketing Agency attributes the move to TCPA compliance premiums on consent-verified lead flow, rising digital ad CPMs, and tighter MDL-level case qualification criteria. The intervening quarters are not held in the dataset, so the shape of the path between the two points is unknown.",
      "source": {
        "name": "Mass Tort Marketing Agency CPR Benchmark, Q1 2026 release",
        "url": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/methodology/",
        "date": "2026-04-24",
        "type": "internal"
      }
    },
    {
      "id": "depo-provera-criteria-tightening",
      "scope": "tort:depo-provera",
      "period": "2024/2026-q1",
      "title": "MDL criteria tightening moved CPR up 12-18%",
      "text": "MDL criteria tightening in 2025 narrowed the Depo Provera exposure window, moving cost per signed retainer up roughly 12-18% from 2024 levels. Firms entering in 2026 should model against the current tighter criteria rather than legacy 2023-2024 baselines. The 2024 baseline itself is not published as a data point, so this movement is recorded as a stated change, not as a second point in the series.",
      "source": {
        "name": "Mass Tort Marketing Agency CPR Benchmark, Q1 2026 release",
        "url": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/methodology/",
        "date": "2026-04-24",
        "type": "internal"
      }
    },
    {
      "id": "camp-lejeune-compression",
      "scope": "tort:camp-lejeune",
      "period": "2023/2026-q1",
      "title": "CPR compressed 18-25% from the 2023 peak",
      "text": "Camp Lejeune cost per signed retainer has compressed 18-25% from its 2023 peak as the market matured and the remaining unidentified claimant pool shrank. The 2023 peak value is not published as a data point, so this movement is recorded as a stated change, not as a second point in the series.",
      "source": {
        "name": "Mass Tort Marketing Agency CPR Benchmark, Q1 2026 release",
        "url": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/methodology/",
        "date": "2026-04-24",
        "type": "internal"
      }
    },
    {
      "id": "roundup-signed-rate-decline",
      "scope": "tort:roundup",
      "period": "2023-q1/2026-q1",
      "title": "Signed rate declined from 13% to 11%",
      "text": "The Roundup signed rate declined slowly from 13% in Q1 2023 to 11% in Q1 2026 as the most motivated claimants signed with competitor firms. Note that this stated 11% figure sits below the 12-17% signed-rate band published for Roundup in the Q1 2026 table; the source describes 12% as the level new entrants should model rather than the upper end of the band. The two figures are reproduced here as published and have not been reconciled.",
      "source": {
        "name": "Mass Tort Marketing Agency CPR Benchmark, Q1 2026 release",
        "url": "https://www.masstortmarketingagency.com/benchmarks/methodology/",
        "date": "2026-04-24",
        "type": "internal"
      }
    }
  ]
}